Languages and Eighth Schedule

Rajya Sabha members can use all 22 scheduled languages


Mains Paper 2: Polity | Parliament & State Legislatures – structure, functioning, conduct of business, powers & privileges & issues arising out of these

From UPSC perspective, the following things are important:

Prelims level: Eighth Schedule of the Constitution

Mains level: Provisions in the constitution for preserving diversity and culture of India and status of their implementation

Use of language in RS

  1. Rajya Sabha members can speak in any of the 22 scheduled languages from this monsoon session
  2. The members will have to give notice of a reasonable period for the interpreter

Current status

  1. The Rajya Sabha already has a simultaneous interpretation for Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu


Eighth Schedule of the Constitution

  1. The Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India lists the official languages of the Republic of India
  2. The Government of India is under an obligation to take measures for the development of these languages, such that “they grow rapidly in richness and become effective means of communicating modern knowledge”
  3. In addition, a candidate appearing in an examination conducted for public service is entitled to use any of these languages as the medium in which he or she answers the paper
  4. The 22 languages which are listed in the Eighth Schedule are Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments