Citizenship and Related Issues

Home Ministry terminates ‘Black List’ of Indian-origin people


From UPSC perspective, the following things are important :

Prelims level : MHA Black list

Mains level : Not Much

  • The Home Ministry has decided to discard its ‘Black Lists’ of Indian-origin people.

What is Black List?

  • The list mostly is comprised of the names of people belonging to the Sikh Community, who have taken asylum abroad under the plea of alleged persecution in India.
  • The list is maintained by Indian missions abroad.
  • The Indian-origin people who took asylum abroad under the plea of alleged persecution in India are included in the list.
  • Those who are in the Black list are denied visa services by Indian missions and posts.

Implications of the move

  • As per Home Ministry officials, all such people presently in the blacklist will be given regular visa as well as Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) cards.
  • Indian missions and posts abroad will no longer be required to maintain any such local lists, known as ‘Black lists’.
  • All such Persons of Indian Origin (PIOs) and their families who are not in the main adverse list of the government will now be granted a visa and consular services at par with foreigners of that country.
  • In another decision, the MHA also delegated the Foreigners Regional Registration Officers (FRROs) to grant permits to foreigners to visit protected and restricted area in the country.
  • The state governments along with FRROs will now to be able to grant permits for travel other than tourism in areas that were hitherto restricted areas.


  • Some areas in North-Eastern states, J&K, Himachal Pradesh and a few islands in Andaman and Nicobar islands are currently under restricted and protected areas.
  • Foreigners are required to take special permissions to visit such places.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments