Tourism Sector

Iconic Tourist Sites Initiative


From UPSC perspective, the following things are important :

Prelims level : Iconic tourists sites initiative

Mains level : Promoting tourism in India

Iconic Tourist Sites Initiative

  • During her Budget speech earlier this month, Finance Minister said that 17 “Iconic Tourist Sites” in the country would be developed by the government into world class tourist destinations.
  • The initiative was aimed at enhancing India’s soft power. The Sites included:
  1. Taj Mahal & Fatehpur Sikri (Uttar Pradesh)
  2. Ajanta and Ellora (Maharashtra)
  3. Humayun Tomb, Qutub Minar and Red Fort (Delhi)
  4. Colva Beach (Goa)
  5. Amer Fort (Rajasthan)
  6. Somnath and Dholavira (Gujarat)
  7. Khajuraho (Madhya Pradesh)
  8. Hampi (Karnataka)
  9. Mahablipuram (Tamil Nadu)
  10. Kaziranga (Assam)
  11. Kumarakom (Kerala)
  12. Mahabodhi Temple (Bihar)


  • The government is looking at overall development from the tourism point of view in and around these sites — which includes roads and infrastructure, hotels and lodges, connectivity and access.
  • As such, several ministries, from Railways to Civil Aviation, will be involved, while the Tourism Ministry will be the nodal agency.
  • In keeping with international standards, interventions in and around the monuments will have elements of universal accessibility, green technology, and enhanced security for tourists.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments