Inland Waterways

Lok Sabha passes The National Waterways Bill, 2015

The bill aims at declaring 106 additional inland waterways as National Waterways in addition to the five existing National Waterways.

  1. The National Waterways Bill, 2015 repeals the 5 Acts that declare the existing national waterways.
  2. This will pave way for the inclusion of 106 additional inlands waterways.
  3. The total number of national waterways numbers will go up to 111 from existing five national waterways.
  4. Declaration of these National Waterways would enable Inland Waterways Authority of India (IWAI) to develop the feasible stretches for Shipping and Navigation.
  5. Inland waterways comprise mainly rivers, lakes, canals, creeks and backwaters.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment
Notify of