Health Sector – UHC, National Health Policy, Family Planning, Health Insurance, etc.

NHPS beneficiaries to be drawn from economic, caste census: Centre to states


Mains Paper 2: Governance | Issues relating to development & management of Social Sector/Services relating to Health, Education, Human Resources

From UPSC perspective, the following things are important:

Prelims level: National Health Protection Scheme, SECC, National Health Agency, Rashtriya Swasthya Bima Yojana

Mains level: Universal health coverage and constraints in implementing it

SECC to be used

  1. The National Health Protection Scheme (NHPS) will cover an estimated 9.91 crore households across the country
  2. The beneficiaries have been selected on the basis of “deprivation and occupational criteria” as per Socio-Economic and Caste Census (SECC) data
  3. A National Health Agency (NHA) is also to be set up to manage NHPS

Criteria for selection

  1. The proposed target population is
  • families that belong to any of the 7 deprivation criteria
  • automatically included families as per SECC database for rural areas and
  • defined occupational criteria for urban areas

2. The total target of 9.91 crore households also includes 0.22 crore families currently enrolled under Rashtriya Swasthya Bima Yojana (RSBY) but not in the targeted SECC data

Aadhar to be used

  1. The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare has proposed to “use Aadhaar-based authentication” for validation of beneficiary
  2. No person will be denied benefits under the scheme “merely on the (basis of) non-availability of Aadhaar


Socio-Economic and Caste Census (SECC)

  1. SECC was conducted in 2011 and is meant to provide data on various socio-economic indicators, and most importantly, on caste
  2. The SECC 2011 was conducted in all states and union territories of India
  3. SECC 2011 is also the first paperless census in India conducted on hand-held electronic devices by the government in 640 districts
  4. SECC 2011 was the first-ever caste-based census since 1931 Census of India
  5. SECC 2011 was not conducted under 1948 Census of India Act which made information disclosure voluntary for citizens, and not a mandatory disclosure
  6. Socio-Economic and Caste Census 2011 was the fourth exercise conducted by Government of India to identify households living below the poverty line (BPL) in India that would get various entitlements, after three censuses in 1992, 1997 and 2002
  7. SECC 2011 has three census components conducted by three separate authorities but under the overall coordination of Department of Rural Development in the Government of India:
  • Census in Rural Area has been conducted by the Department of Rural Development
  • Census in Urban areas is under the administrative jurisdiction of the Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation
  • Caste Census is under the administrative control of Ministry of Home Affairs: Registrar General and Census Commissioner of India
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments