India’s Bid to a Permanent Seat at United Nations

Obama endorses India for UNSC seat

  1. Five permanent members: China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States.
  2. Ten non-permanent members elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly with term ending date: Angola (2016), Chad (2015), Chile (2015), Jordan (2015), Lithuania (2015), Malaysia (2016), New Zealand (2016), Nigeria (2015), Spain (2016), Venezuela (2016).

How imp. is it for India to join UNSC? Who is not in our favour?