Tourism Sector

[pib] International Buddhist Conclave 2018


Mains Paper 2: Governance | Government policies and interventions for development in various sectors and issues arising out of their design and implementation

From UPSC perspective, the following things are important:

Prelims level: IBC

Mains level: Boosting tourism in India


6th International Buddhist Conclave (IBC), 2018

  1. Theme: “Buddha Path – The Living Heritage”
  2. The aim of the Conclave is to showcase and project the Buddhist Heritage in India and boost tourism to the Buddhist sites in the country and cultivate friendly ties with countries and communities interested in Buddhism.
  3. The Ministry of Tourism will launch its website in and a new film showcasing the Buddhist sites in the country.
  4. The Ministerial level delegation from Bangladesh, Indonesia, Myanmar and Sri Lanka will participate along with delegates from 29 countries in the conclave.

About International Buddhist Conclave

  1. The Ministry of Tourism, Government of India, has been organizing the International Buddhist Conclave biennially.
  2. The earlier International Buddhist Conclaves were organized in New Delhi and Bodhgaya (February 2004), Nalanda and Bodhgaya (February 2010), Varanasi and Bodhgaya (September 2012), Bodhgaya and Varanasi (September 2014) and in Sarnath/Varanasi and Bodhgaya (October 2016).
  3. IBC 2018 will have a religious / spiritual dimension, an academic theme and a diplomatic and business component.
  4. The Ministry has planned to organize an ‘Investors’ Summit’ during the Conclave to attract investments in developing world class infrastructure at Buddhist sites.

Buddhist Heritage in India

  1. The most precious gift that the Ancient India has given to the World is, the Buddha and his Path, which is, the Eight-fold Path, in Pali language, Aṭṭhangiko Maggo.
  2. The Buddha Path provides quality of life based on Values as moral principles, or other ideas that guide our choices; Right beliefs, connection to nature and place with spirituality; Way of Life, daily practices, good habits and inspiring traditional skills for mental growth, thereby, making it the Living Heritage.
  3. On the other hand, the ‘Buddha Path’ also refers to the Eight Great Places of Buddhist Heritage, (referred in Pali as Aṭṭhamahāṭhānāni).
  4. These Eight Places are connected with the important events of the life of the Buddha from the time of his Birth, Enlightenment, Teaching Dhamma to suffering humanity, till he passed away, Mahāparinirvāna, at the age of 80 years.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments