Nobel and other Prizes

The 2016 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

  1. Awarded to: Yoshinori Ohsumi from Japan
  2. For: Discovered and elucidated mechanisms underlying ‘autophagy’
  3. Autophagy: A fundamental process for degrading and recycling cellular components
  4. Earlier: The 2015 Nobel Prize in Medicine was awarded for discoveries concerning novel therapies against river blindness, lymphatic filariasis and malaria to William C. Campbell, Satoshi Omura and Youyou Tu
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments