Housing for All by 2022


  • PM Modi- ‘By the time the Nation completes 75 years of its Independence, every family will have a pucca house with water connection, toilet facilities, 24×7 electricity supply and access’
  • To achieve this objective, Govt has launched a comprehensive mission ‘Housing for All by 2022’
  • The programme is launched by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation (MoHUPA)


  • It will be implemented during 2015-2022
  • Will provide central assistance to implementing agencies through States and UTs for providing houses to all eligible families/beneficiaries by 2022
  • Will be implemented as Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS) except for the component of credit linked subsidy which will be implemented as a Central Sector Scheme <what’s the difference b/w centrally sponsored and central sector schemes? Answer in comments>
  • Mission with all its component has become effective from 17 June, 2015 and will be implemented upto 31 March, 2022
  • All 4041 statutory towns as per Census 2011 with focus on 500 Class I cities would be covered in three phases: Answer in comments>
  1. Phase I (April 2015 – March 2017) to cover 100 Cities selected from States/ UTs as per their willingness
  2. Phase II (April 2017 – March 2019) to cover additional 200 Cities
  3. Phase III (April 2019 – March 2022) to cover all other remaining Cities

Ministry, however, will have flexibility regarding inclusion of additional cities in earlier phases in case there is a resource backed demand from States/ UTs

  • The mission will support construction of houses upto 30 square meter carpet area with basic civic infrastructure
  • The minimum size of houses constructed under the mission under each component should conform to the standards provided in National Building Code (NBC)
  • The houses should be designed and constructed to meet the requirements of structural safety against earthquake, flood, cyclone, landslides etc. conforming to the National Building Code and other relevant Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) codes
  • The houses should be in the name of the female head of the household or in the joint name of the male head of the household and his wife, and only in cases when there is no adult female member in the family, the house can be in the name of male member of the household
  • Implementing Agencies should encourage formation of associations of beneficiaries under the scheme like Resident Welfare Association etc. to take care of maintenance of houses being built under the mission


The Mission will be implemented through four verticals giving option to beneficiaries, ULBs and State Governments



  • The mission seeks to address the housing requirement of urban poor including slum dwellers

What is a slum? It is defined as a compact area of at least 300 people or about 60-70 households of poorly built congested tenements in unhygienic environment usually with inadequate infrastructure and lacking in proper sanitary and drinking water facilities

  • Beneficiaries include Economically weaker section (EWS) and low-income groups (LIGs)

The annual income cap is up to Rs 3 lakh for EWS and Rs 3-6 lakh for LIG. EWS category of beneficiaries is eligible for assistance in all four verticals of the Missions whereas LIG category is eligible under only Credit linked subsidy scheme (CLSS) component of the Mission

  • A beneficiary family will comprise husband, wife, unmarried sons and/ or unmarried daughters
  • The beneficiary family should not own a pucca house either in his/ her name or in the name of any member of his/ her family in any part of India to be eligible to receive central assistance under the mission
  • The total housing shortage envisaged to be addressed through the new mission is 20 million Answer in comments>


Follow this story for updates on housing scheme- India’s urbanisation agenda


Published with inputs from Swapnil


By Explains

Explain the News

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments