Higher Education – RUSA, NIRF, HEFA, etc.

UGC releases National Credit Framework (NCrF)


From UPSC perspective, the following things are important :

Prelims level: National Credit Framework (NCrF)

Mains level: Read the attached story

The University Grants Commission (UGC) released the National Credit Framework (NCrF), which will allow students to earn educational credits at all levels, irrespective of the mode of learning i.e. offline, online, or blended.

What is National Credit Framework (NCrF)?

  • The NCrF is a meta-framework that integrates the credits earned through school education, higher education, and vocational and skill education.
  • It consists of three verticals:
  1. National School Education Qualification Framework (NSEQF)
  2. National Higher Education Qualification Framework (NHEQF) and
  3. National Skills Qualification Framework (NSQF)
  • The NCrF provides a mechanism for the integration of general academic education and vocational and skill education, ensuring equivalence within and between these two education streams.
  • Institutions would be free to notify their detailed implementation guidelines with flexibility for catering to their academic requirements.

Key features

(1) Credit System

  • Under the NCrF, one credit corresponds to 30 notional learning hours in a year of two semesters.
  • A student is required to earn a minimum of 20 credits every semester.
  • A student can earn more than 40 credits in a year.
  • Maximum credits a student can earn during schooling period is 160.
  • A three-year bachelor’s degree course will result in a total of 120 credits earned.
  • A Ph.D. degree is at Level 8 and earns 320 credits upon completion.

(2) Study of Vedas:  Students can obtain credits for their proficiency in diverse areas of the Indian knowledge system, including the Puranas, Vedas, and other related components.

(3) Indian Knowledge System (IKS): UGC notified the final report, which includes the components of the IKS. The IKS comprises 18 theoretical disciplines called vidyas and 64 practical disciplines, including vocational areas and crafts. These disciplines were the foundation of the 18 sciences in ancient India, as per the report.

(4) Educational Acceleration: The NCrF supports educational acceleration for students with gifted learning abilities. It provides scope for crediting national/international achievers in any field, including but not limited to sports, Indian knowledge system, music, heritage, traditional skills, performing & fine arts, master artisans, etc.

(5) International Equivalence: The international equivalence and transfer of credits shall be enabled through various multilateral/bilateral agreements between respective regulators of the countries concerned. NCrF would lend credibility and authenticity to the credits being assigned and earned under various programs in India, making these credits more acceptable and transferable internationally.



Get an IAS/IPS ranker as your 1: 1 personal mentor for UPSC 2024

Attend Now

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


Join us across Social Media platforms.

💥Mentorship New Batch Launch
💥Mentorship New Batch Launch