Full form of UPSC CSE

UPSC’ stands for

‘Union Public Service Commission’

CSE’ stands for

‘Civil Services Examination’

“Dedication, Smart work, Confidence, Consistency and Personalized Mentors’ Guidance are the 5 pillars of UPSC-CSE success.”Civilsdaily.

Table of Content:

What is UPSC CSE?

The civil services examination (CSE) is a National level competitive examination. The exam is conducted by the UPSC almost every year. 

CSE is also widely known as the IAS exam. 

CSE is for the recruitment of bureaucrats (Civil Servants/HIgher Govt. officials) for 3 services under the Government of India 

  • All India Services
  • Group A Services or Central Services
  • Group B services or State services

Every year millions of Indian youths start preparing for the exam. But a handful of candidates can clear the exam because it is the toughest exam in the country and is unpredictable too.

What services are there under UPSC CSE?

All India Services:

  • Indian Administrative Service 
  • Indian Foreign Service 
  • Indian Police Service 

Group A Services or Central Services

  • Indian Audit and Accounts Service
  • Indian Civil Accounts Service 
  • Indian Corporate Law Service 
  • Indian Defence Accounts Service
  • Indian Defence Estates Service
  • Indian Information Service, Junior Grade
  • Indian Postal Service, Group
  • Indian P&T Accounts and Finance Service
  • Indian Railway Protection Force Service
  • Indian Revenue Service (Customs & Indirect Taxes)
  • Indian Revenue Service (Income Tax)
  • Indian Trade Service 

Group B services or State services

  • Armed Forces Headquarters
  • Delhi, Andaman, and the Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu, and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service (DANICS)
  • Delhi, Andaman, and the Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu, and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service (DANIPS).
  • Pondicherry Civil Service (PONDICS)


All the posts start in the level 10 pay matrix and the pay band is between Rs. 56,100 and Rs. 1,77,500.



For the Indian Administrative Service, the Indian Foreign Service, and the Indian Police Service, a candidate must be a citizen of India. 

(2) For other services, a candidate must be either:— 

(a) a citizen of India or (b) a subject of Nepal 

(c) a subject of Bhutan 

(d) a Tibetan refugee who came over to India before 1st January 1962 intending to permanently settle in India 

(e) a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia, and Vietnam intending to permanently settle in India. Provided that a candidate belonging to categories (b), (c), (d) and (e) shall be a person in whose favour a certificate of eligibility has been issued by the Government of India. A candidate in whose case a certificate of eligibility is necessary may be admitted to the examination but the offer of appointment may be given only after the necessary eligibility certificate has been issued to him/her by the Government of India. 

Minimum Educational Qualification: 

A candidate must hold a Graduate degree from any of the Universities incorporated by an Act of the central or State Legislature in India or other educational institutions established by an Act of Parliament or declared to be deemed as a University under Section 3 of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956 or possess an equivalent qualification.


(1) A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years 

(2) The upper age limit prescribed above will be relaxable: 

(a) up to a maximum of five years if a candidate belongs to a Scheduled Caste or a Scheduled Tribe; 

(b) up to a maximum of three years in the case of candidates belonging to Other Backward Classes who are eligible to avail of reservation applicable to such candidates; 

(c) up to a maximum of three years in the case of Defence Services Personnel, disabled in operations during hostilities with any foreign country or in a disturbed area and released as a consequence thereof; 

(d) up to a maximum of five years in the case of ex-servicemen including Commissioned Officers and Emergency Commissioned Officers (ECOs)/ Short Service Commissioned Officers (SSCOs) who have rendered at least five years of Military Service 

(e) up to a maximum of five years in the case of ECOs/SSCOs who have completed an initial period of assignment of five years of Military Service 

(f) up to a maximum of 10 years in the case of candidates belonging to Persons with Benchmark Disabilities (PwBD) categories viz. (i) blindness and low vision; (ii) deaf and hard of hearing; (iii) locomotor disability including cerebral palsy, leprosy cured, dwarfism, acid attack victims and muscular dystrophy; (iv) autism, intellectual disability, specific learning disability, and mental illness; (v) multiple disabilities from amongst person under clauses (i) to (iv) including deaf-blindness

Number of Attempts: 

Every candidate appearing at the examination, who is otherwise eligible, shall be permitted six (6) attempts at the CSE. However, relaxation in the number of attempts will be available to the SC/ST/OBC and PwBD category candidates who are otherwise eligible. The number of attempts available to such candidates as per relaxation is as under: 


Candidates (excepting Female/SC/ST/Persons with Benchmark Disability Candidates who are exempted from payment of fee) are required to pay a fee of Rs. 100/- (Rupees One Hundred only) 

How to Clear UPSC CSE!

Online Workshop on CSE Prep. Strategy

Guys, though we have provided above the most comprehensive details for your CSE preparation, we would like to recommend you to have a personalized mentor. Because UPSC CSE is a hard nut to crack.

Guys, successful and unsuccessful people do not vary greatly in their abilities. They vary in their desires to reach their goal.

Getting confused? connect with us. We will help you to make out.


Join us across Social Media platforms.