Government Schemes for the development of North East India

#1. Non-lapsable Central Pool of Resources


  • The North Eastern Region (NER) comprises 8 States viz. Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura
  • All the States in the NER are Special Category States whose Development Plans are centrally financed on the basis of 90% Grant and 10% Loan
  • In October 1996, the then Prime Minister announced “New Initiatives for North Eastern Region” and stipulated that at least 10% of the Budget(s) of the Central Ministries/Department will be earmarked for the development of North Eastern States
  • But, what if they are not able to use all funds? We created a Central Pool of Resources for the North East out of the unspent amount of stipulated 10% of GBS to support infrastructure development projects in the North East
  • Subsequently, this fund became non-lapsable


The broad objective of the Non-lapsable Central Pool of Resources scheme is to ensure speedy development of infrastructure in the North Eastern Region by increasing the flow of budgetary financing for new infrastructure projects/schemes in the Region.

Funds from the Central Pool can be released for State sector as well as Central sector projects/schemes.

#2. North East Rural Livelihood Project

  • North East Rural Livelihood Project (NERLP) is implemented in 4 North Eastern States of Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura
  • 2 districts in each of these 4 states only
  • It was launched in 2013 for a period of 5 years
  • Aiding agency: World Bank
  • Objective: Create sustainable community institutions around women Self Help Groups (SHG), Community development groups (CDG) and the youth of the select districts
User Avatar

By Explains

Explain the News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


Join us across Social Media platforms.

💥FREE for 24 Hours Prelims Notes
This is default text for notification bar