Nobel and other Prizes

Sainath awarded 2021 Fukuoka Prize


From UPSC perspective, the following things are important :

Prelims level : Fukuoka Prize

Mains level : Not Much

Noted journalist P. Sainath has been selected as one of the three recipients of the Fukuoka Prize for 2021.

Fukuoka Prize

  • The Fukuoka Prize is given annually to distinguished people to foster and increase awareness of Asian cultures, and to create a broad framework of exchange and mutual learning among the Asian people.
  • The Prize was established in 1990 by the city of Fukuoka in Japan and the Fukuoka City International Foundation.
  • The Grand Prize has earlier been awarded to Muhammad Yunus from Bangladesh, historian Romila Thapar, and sarod maestro Amjad Ali Khan. Eleven Indians have received the Fukuoka Prize so far.
  • 115 people from 28 countries and areas have received the Prize in the past 30 years.

Citation for the award

  • In a statement issued Mr. Sainath was described as a “very deserving recipient of the Grand Prize of Fukuoka Prize”.
  • The Secretariat noted his work for creating a new form of knowledge through his writings and commentaries on rural India and for “promoting civil cooperation”.

Get an IAS/IPS ranker as your 1: 1 personal mentor for UPSC 2024

Attend Now

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


Join us across Social Media platforms.

💥FREE for 24 Hours Prelims Notes
This is default text for notification bar