[Prelims Spotlight] Fragile Five, Agni Series Missiles, Advance Area Defence (AAD) interceptor missile

Here are  Back2Basics collections from today’s news items

B2B #1: From news- [Op-ed Snap] Has the Indian economy caught the Dutch disease?

Fragile Five

  1. Fragile Five is a term coined in August of 2013 by a financial analyst at Morgan Stanley to represent emerging market economies that have become too dependent on unreliable foreign investment to finance their growth ambitions.
  2. The acronym follows a long line of analyst acronyms that have caught on over the years, including Jim O’Neill’s BRICS and MINTS acronyms.
  3. As capital flows out of emerging markets to developed markets, many of their currencies experienced significant weakness and made it difficult to finance current account deficits.
  4. The lack of new investment also made it impossible to finance many growth projects, which contributed to a slowdown in their respective economies. This created a potential issue for certain vulnerable economies.
  5. The five members of the Fragile Five include:
  6. Turkey
  7. Brazil
  8. India
  9. South Africa
  10. Indonesia

B2B #2: From news- India successfully test-fires nuclear-capable Agni-5

Agni Series Missiles

  1. At present, India has in its armoury the Agni series –
  • Agni-1 with 700 km range,
  • Agni-2 with 2,000 km range,
  • Agni-3 with 2,500 km range,
  • Agni-4 with more than 3,500 km range.
  • Agni-5 with more than 5500km.
  1. The first test of Agni-5 was conducted on April 19, 2012, the second on September 15, 2013, the third on January 31, 2015 and fourth on December 26, 2016. The last test was held on January 18, 2018.
  2. All the five earlier trials were successful.
  3. The third, fourth and fifth launches were from canister integrated with a mobile launcher, in its deliverable configuration that enables launch of the missile with a very short preparation time as compared to an open launch.

Here’s a Factoid to brush up your concepts

Name : Advance Area Defence (AAD) interceptor missile

Defence Forces : Army

Module Type : Missiles

Brief Intro :  1. Advanced Air Defence (AAD) is an anti-ballistic missile designed to intercept incoming ballistic missiles in the endo-atmosphere at an altitude of 30 km (19 mi).

2. AAD is a single-stage, solid-fuelled missile.

3. Guidance is similar to that of Prithvi Air Defence (PAD): it has an inertial navigation system, midcourse updates from ground based radar and active radar homing in the terminal phase


User Avatar

By Explains

Explain the News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


Join us across Social Media platforms.

💥Mentorship New Batch Launch
💥Mentorship New Batch Launch