Nobel and other Prizes

2024 Padma Awards Announced


From UPSC perspective, the following things are important :

Prelims level : Padma Awards

Mains level : Read the attached story


Central Idea

  • Former Vice-President M. Venkaiah Naidu, actors Chiranjeevi and Vyjayanthimala Bali, and Bharatanatyam dancer Padma Subrahmanyam will be conferred with Padma Vibhushan, the country’s second-highest civilian award, the Central government announced on the eve of Republic Day.
  • Bindeshwar Pathak, founder of Sulabh International, will be conferred with the award posthumously.

About Padma Award

  • The Padma Awards are among India’s most prestigious civilian honors, announced annually on Republic Day’s eve, following the Bharat Ratna.
  • These awards are designed to recognize outstanding achievements across various fields and disciplines, particularly those involving public service.
  • The Government of India introduced the Bharat Ratna and Padma Vibhushan in 1954.
  • Initially, the Padma Vibhushan had three classes: Pahela Varg, Dusra Varg, and Tisra Varg, which were renamed in 1955 as Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri, respectively.

Award Categories

There are three categories of Padma Awards:

  1. Padma Vibhushan: This is awarded for ‘exceptional and distinguished service.’
  2. Padma Bhushan: This is for ‘distinguished service of a high order.’
  3. Padma Shri: This is given for ‘distinguished service.’

Eligibility Criteria

  • The awards are open to all individuals regardless of race, occupation, position, or gender.
  • Government employees, except doctors and scientists, are generally ineligible.
  • The awards are usually not given posthumously, but exceptions can be made in extraordinary cases.
  • A recipient can be considered for a higher category of Padma award only if at least five years have passed since their previous Padma honor. However, exceptions can be made for exceptionally deserving cases.

Nomination Process

  • Nominations are reviewed by the Padma Awards Committee, formed annually by the Prime Minister.
  • The Committee, led by the Cabinet Secretary, includes the Home Secretary, Secretary to the President, and 4-6 distinguished members.
  • The Committee’s recommendations are forwarded to the Prime Minister and the President for final approval.


  • The awards are not titles and cannot be used as prefixes or suffixes to the awardees’ names.
  • The number of awards given annually (excluding posthumous awards and those to NRIs/foreigners/OCIs) is capped at 120.

Get an IAS/IPS ranker as your 1: 1 personal mentor for UPSC 2024

Attend Now

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


Join us across Social Media platforms.

💥FREE for 24 Hours Prelims Notes
This is default text for notification bar