Foreign Policy Watch: United Nations

UN Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions (ACABQ)


From UPSC perspective, the following things are important :

Prelims level : UN ACABQ

Mains level : Success and failures of United Nations

In a significant victory for India at the United Nations, Indian diplomat Vidisha Maitra was elected to the U.N. Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions (ACABQ).

Try this PYQ:

Which one of the following is not related to the United Nations?
(a) Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency
(b) International Finance Corporation
(c) International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes
(d) Bank for International Settlements


  • It is a subsidiary organ of the General Assembly. The 193-member Assembly appoints members of the Advisory Committee.
  • ACABQ consists of 16 members appointed by the Assembly in their individual capacity.
  • Members are selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience.

Its functions

  • ACABQ ensures that fund contributions to the U.N. system are put to good effect and that mandates are properly funded.
  • It examines, on behalf of the General Assembly, the administrative budgets of the specialised agencies and proposals for financial arrangements with such agencies; and to consider and report to the General Assembly on the auditors’ reports on the accounts of the UN and of the specialised agencies.

Why is the seat given to India?

  • India has a stellar record of bringing professional auditing experience to the U.N. and contributing outstanding professionals to U.N. bodies.
  • With India’s rising obligations in both assessed as well as voluntary contributions to the U.N., India holds key responsibility of administrative and budgetary management of U.N.

Significance of the move

  • The victory gives a strong display of support by U.N. member states for India.
  • It comes as India gets ready to sit in the U.N. Security Council as a non-permanent member for a two-year term beginning January 2021.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments